Michelle Gayer

Beard Award Nominees Include Local Chefs

Rick rounds up the local James Beard award semi-finalists, who include Isaac Becker (112 Eatery and Bar La Grassa), Lenny Russo (Heartland), Doug Flicker (Piccolo), Russell Klein (Meritage), and Erik Anderson (Sea Change). La Belle Vie was nominated for outstanding restaurant and outstanding service, Piccolo for best new restaurant, Michelle Gayer for pastry chef, Sameh […]


April 19 Morning Roundup

The State of Minnesota would like you to stop eating ungutted dried fish [via: Bring.mn], Wisconsin’s got a cheesy new state microbe, Minnesota farm incomes plunged last year, Dara digs the newly opened Derrick’s for soul food, some Thai restaurant comparison shopping, and Rick interviews Michelle Gayer about her Beard nomination.


2010 Beard Semifinalists

The 2010 James Beard Foundation Award semifinalists are out — gaze upon the glory. For Best Chef: Midwest, some very solid names: Alex Roberts. Isaac Becker. Vincent Francoual. Stewart Woodman. Lenny Russo. Mike Phillips. And (new to me) Hakan Lundberg of Cosmos. D’Amico gets a shot at Outstanding Restaurateur, Bar La Grassa for Best New […]